Strava segment anomalies

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The New NickB 29 Jul 2020

I've been using Strava for about 9 years, probably for the last 5 or 6 I have not been paying much attention to segments, but in the last couple of months I have been working hard to get back to fitness after prelonged illness and injury and find the segments set up on certain speed sessions useful.

I did some hill reps as part of a small group last night, I felt I was going really well, much, much better than when I did a similar session on the same hills a couple of months ago.

I uploaded my watch and it shows me slower than both the times I did a couple of months ago, but also slower than people I was consistently beating in the session.

For example is gives my best time last night on one hill as 1:19, compared to 1:15 a few months ago and 1:11 for one of the people I was consistently beating. Looking at the stationary to stationary times on the Strava analysis of the run it was about 1:05.

It has occurred to me that I may be stopping a short distance before the end of the segment, but looking at this in more detail, I am pretty sure this isn't the case. It is not the first time that this has happened. Any ideas?

Basemetal 29 Jul 2020
In reply to The New NickB:

You're slower than you thought you were?

I had a similar experiece on a hilly circuit the the other day where I thought I was flying round but was 3 minutes over my PB...

OP The New NickB 29 Jul 2020
In reply to Basemetal:

> You're slower than you thought you were?

> I had a similar experiece on a hilly circuit the the other day where I thought I was flying round but was 3 minutes over my PB...

All the evidence suggests otherwise, particularly other runners who recorded quicker times, despite finishing well behind me.

Basemetal 29 Jul 2020

Joking apart, that is wierd.

compost 29 Jul 2020