Running a mile

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
iusedtoclimb 19 Jun 2019

So I am an ultra runner (training for Ronda del cims at mo) so slow and long is my specialty.

i’m thinking of trying something different when I finish Ronda. I’m thinking of seeing how fast I can run a mile. 

So what would be a good time to aim for? I’m almost 50 and best parkrun time is 22 mins on a hilly course. My background is fell running and mountainous ultras. Also how do you train to run a mile fast? Do the obvious or more scientific?

McHeath 20 Jun 2019
In reply to iusedtoclimb:

Just google "mile training" and you can take your pick.

To spur you on: the world record for M50 is 3:58, run by a Brit in 1968 (!)

Good luck!

NathanP 20 Jun 2019

Runners world has an online calculator here https://www.runnersworld.com/uk/training/a761681/rws-race-time-predictor/ to predict the time one would take for any distance, based on time achieved at another. The formula isn't just proportional and allows for a faster pace at shorter distances.

Based on your 22 mins for 5k, it suggests 6mins 37 as the equivalent effort/achievement for a mile so I'd suggest beating that would be a good starting objective.

DancingOnRock 20 Jun 2019

My mile time for a 23min 5k time was just a touch over 6mins. Be prepared for it to really hurt for about 4mins. 

john arran 20 Jun 2019

A while back I wondered if it would be possible for me to do a 4-minute mile down a perfect-gradient road, but after finding one and absolutely hammering down it for less than half a mile, Strava told me my speed wasn't even close.

Full respect for those able to get under 4 minutes on the flat.

r0b 20 Jun 2019

Sub-6 would be a good target. Training wise keep doing your long steady runs but swap in one interval session, 800m, 1000m or 1200m reps with 60-90s recovery

Phil1919 20 Jun 2019

Do reps with other peolple. Just don't do too much too quickly. 

In reply to McHeath: