HM Trail - Pacing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Shaso 15 May 2022

Hi, I've been running for over 12 years, mainly 5K to 10 miles and thrown in a few HM trail runs.

I've recently decided to get more serious on HM trail runs and was wondering, can you pace predict these runs. No race is the same, so I normally just run by feel, speed up and slow down according to the terrain.

I have a race in 5 weeks (Penshaw HM) the last 1km is all ascent, so my thoughts are make time up during the main race, as I know I'll slow down considerably on that last 1km climb.

Would be nice to hear any advice, Thank You

robert-hutton 15 May 2022
In reply to Shaso:

Fast start, slot into your other runners running at your pace, eye balls out for last 2k to beat them.

Feel crappy on the finish line and great on reflection.

Post edited at 12:36
OP Shaso 15 May 2022
In reply to robert-hutton:

Perfect race strategy in one short sentence.  

DaveHK 15 May 2022
In reply to robert-hutton:

> Fast start, slot into your other runners running at your pace, eye balls out for last 2k to beat them.

> Feel crappy on the finish line and great on reflection.

Or start steady,  speed up and enjoy the rush of passing all the clowns that went off too hard.  

OP Shaso 15 May 2022
In reply to DaveHK:

That's more like it!   

Not looking forward to the 20 degree plus climb at the end.

SouthernSteve 15 May 2022
In reply to Shaso:

On the Garmin watches, at least the posher ones, there is a PacePro function which I have used once on an Ultra to try to slow myself down at the beginning. It takes your expected time, considers the splits and asks whether you go fast or slow up hills. The race didn't go that well (I think I need to accept that I am a positive split kind of runner and I was trying to fight that) but what it was suggesting felt about right in terms of differences in pace on hills, descents and on the flat.