Heart rate whilst running

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Hi all, I'm hoping someone can calm my nerves a little.

I have been running for about 6-7 years although I took about 2.5 years off with injury. Ive always been sporty-ish being decent at most things but excellent at none. I took to running much more than most pursuits and became quite fit for my age with decent times.

I am now back on the running game properly and am following a plan to regain some fitness, lose some weight and run a marathon in October. My loose training scheme is to get the miles up gradually to try and remove the chance of injury. For now I am just getting the miles in by adding a mile a week whilst the legs strengthen up and I am up to 18 miles this week spread over 3 or 4 runs. So, I have just done a 6.5 miler at about 8min/mile on flat road terrain with breezy conditions. I decided to wear my heart rate monitor (Garmin, attached to a Garmin FR630) to see what the fitness levels are and I have just checked the heart rate for each lap and I was a constant 181-183bpm for every lap. This seemed high so Ive just checked a couple of articles which state that this is way too high.

I'm 41, stocky and a tad overweight at the moment. I sometimes get a pain in my neck (both sides) during running which I tend to run off.

Am I going to collapse in a heap of death if I carry on? In two weeks time, I will be heading into the 20s and starting to add a longer run each week.

Edit. I have pretty normal resting heart rate.
Post edited at 19:13
 Yanis Nayu 18 Apr 2017
In reply to TheDrunkenBakers: