Garmin & Recovery Times

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The New NickB 26 Aug 2018

I’ve been using various GPS running watches for about 8 years. My current model is a Garmin FR235.

At the end of each run it tells me that I need a certain amount of recovery time, this is usually between 24 hours and three days. As someone who runs most days and sometimes twice a day, this information is ignored.

Has anyone any idea what it is based on? Can I disable it? I like the watch, but this is a bit annoying.

Yanis Nayu 26 Aug 2018
In reply to The New NickB:

I think it’s an algorithm of heart rate/duration, but I’m not sure. 

OP The New NickB 26 Aug 2018
In reply to Yanis Nayu:

I’m sure you are right. I don’t think the heart rate monitor is particularly accurate, but even so it is incredibly conservative. It does make me wonder about some of the other metrics that it produces, particularly VO2+ Not that I pay much attention beyond distance and pace.

DaveHK 26 Aug 2018

I love the recovery times on my Suunto from a comedy point of view. I don't use the HRM so it's basically meaningless. It prioritises speed over distance and ascent so a quick, flat 10k can count the same or more than a super hilly 40k. Plus it maxes out at 120hrs so a trot along the Mamores with a quick return down glen nevis came out the same as a BG in blazing heat.

I wonder if it's any more accurate with the HRM.

Post edited at 20:31
 mbh 26 Aug 2018

>Not that I pay much attention beyond distance and pace.

Nor me. I have a Garmin 230 which I am also very pleased with, but I consistently find the ascent measure to be dubious. I should, but haven't yet done an analysis of this, but the ascent I get for a route according to Strava is almost always less than the  OS maps site gives me, and more than the Garmin site gives me.