UKC Yoga Fit Club?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 heleno 02 Apr 2020

There've been quite a few people mentioning yoga as part of their lockdown exercise plans, and I wondered if anyone would be interested in participating regularly in a Yoga (for climbers) Fit Club thread, along the lines of the long-running UKC Fit Club.

I'm finding yoga particularly helpful in keeping me sane at the moment, partly because you can do it anywhere, but also because it can become an end in itself, rather than just training for climbing.  I'm hoping to use the lockdown period to work on some poses that I find difficult, as well as doing regular on-line classes.

It would be great to share tips, weblinks and achievements.  I'm also a qualified yoga teacher, so I may be able to offer suggestions to beginners on how to get started and improve their practice.

It could initially be just for the duration of the lockdown, but if it's going well we could continue it afterwards.  Anyone interested?

Post edited at 13:58
 Little Butch 02 Apr 2020
In reply to heleno:

I’m in! After years of a very physical job as well as climbing in the evenings, stretching/mobility work is something that I really need to focus on. I’ve been doing a little recently but intend to do an hours worth every night, starting tonight. 

My plan is to follow this and see how it goes...

youtube.com/watch?v=hRQSHBgjg3E&

Derek Furze 02 Apr 2020
In reply to heleno:

Yes.  As an older climber, flexibility is definitely lacking and I want something to supplement my usual training routine.  Yoga or stretches seems like a useful and positive thing to do on many levels.  Quite impressed with the video posted by Little Butch, so that would make a decent start in principle.  I'm on a rest day, but will introduce it into the routine tomorrow.

If like fit club, is the idea that we report in each Sunday with how well we have done with our stretching targets?

In reply to heleno: