The Climber's Path

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Paul Sagar 02 Jun 2023

Just thought I'd leave this here:

https://www.climberspath.com/

Instead of going out and acquiring experience through doing actual rock climbing in a spirit of independence and adventure, you can pay this chap £12 for a 30 minute video telling you EXACTLY how to climb a specific VS 4c (or whatever).

Welcome to the future, people. 

DaveHK 02 Jun 2023
In reply to Paul Sagar:

Pronounced as climberspaff. 

TobyA 02 Jun 2023
In reply to Paul Sagar:

Most people just ask for free here on UKC.

The imbedded videos don't work on my shonky old laptop so I'm definitely not going to be tempted, although I very much suspect I'm not the target audience anyway. I am interested to see if there is a market for this though - I wouldn't have thought so but I'm sure they put a lot of planning into it before building all this, and as an instructor I guess Henry has a much better knowledge of what people are willing to pay for in climbing than I do!

OP Paul Sagar 02 Jun 2023
In reply to TobyA:

Oh I'm sure there is a market for it. But just because there is demand, it doesn't mean that supply is good. I'm not one for banging on about efficks, but this goes utterly against all that is good and noble in British traditional climbing. As the Wu-Tang Clan said, Cash Rules Everything Around Me. But I'd rather live in a world where it doesn't.

slawrence1001 02 Jun 2023
In reply to Paul Sagar:

I don't even have anything against learning about routes from videos before taking them on, especially if you're a beginner and need confidence (just don't claim onsight lol). 

I just can't wrap my head around how you can justify £12 for a video of someone climbing a VS. The guiding work must've dried up if he's this desperate.

Rob Parsons 02 Jun 2023
In reply to Paul Sagar:

> Just thought I'd leave this here: