So I have broken my leg.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Imedio 07 Mar 2019

So unfortunately during a session at the climbing wall, I took a normal fall, bouldering and have broken my leg. I wasn’t very high, moving very fast, and landed on the mat, just an unfortunate accident. With that said after my surgery I have 8 weeks in a cast.

I have been climbing for about 18 months and climb at around V6 boulder and 7a sports and climb 4/5 times a week (or did ahah).

After my surgery I want to come up with a plan to keep active and train climbing while I’m immobile and obviously unable to actually climb. So, this post is in search of some advice and ideas. 

Any help would be welcome. Thank you! 

Flinticus 07 Mar 2019
In reply to Imedio:

I broke an ankle. While off I used to go on my crutches to a local playground on do pull ups on some bars.

Also walking fast on crutches is exercise in itself.

alx 07 Mar 2019
In reply to Imedio:

As much as you may not like it, put your wall membership on hold and sign up to a standard gym and buy a small portable finger board like the problem solver hanzo. Lift weights, do core workouts split with hanging off the board at the gym.

Dave Cundy 07 Mar 2019
In reply to Imedio:

Use a theraband, or similar, to strengthen the muscles in your shoulders.

Paul Sagar 07 Mar 2019

“I have been climbing for about 18 months and climb at around V6 boulder and 7a sport”

please don’t do any training at all. Being able to climb 7a after a year and a half makes those of us who had to take more than twice as long and with a hell of a lot of effort feel really bad. 

joeldering 07 Mar 2019
In reply to Imedio:

Keep up the climbing wall membership, itll be good motivation to see people.

Fingerboarding, foot on campusing, pull ups, dips, ring training

When you're getting back to climbing top roping could be a good option for trying harder moves in a leg safe manner

planetmarshall 07 Mar 2019
In reply to Imedio: