Slack with ascension device

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Flinticus 02 Apr 2021
Thread moved from Rocktalk to Gear

Hi.

Be kind! I'm just starting out on self belay systems. I've a microtraxion with which I have no problem. This is attached directly to my belay loop via a petzl OK carabiner. Then I've the ascension, attached via a dogbone and two OK carabs on a separate rope. I've also an improvised chest harness. However the ascension is not running smoothly up the rope (10mm static) and as I climb slack builds up and I have to manually move the device up.

What needs to be done to ensure it runs up without intervention?

Ta

aln 02 Apr 2021
In reply to Flinticus:

Do you have the bottom of the ropes attached or weighted? 

OP Flinticus 03 Apr 2021
In reply to aln:

Big knot in the bottom. Off the ground. Bag attached. Not very heavy though. What kinda weight should I be looking for?

aln 03 Apr 2021
In reply to Flinticus:

I don't know what weight, I make sure it's enough to keep the rope taught. Seems to have worked up till now. 

vscott 03 Apr 2021
In reply to Flinticus: generally found coiling the unused rope and tying so it’s just off the ground (rig ascender first to take a bit of slack out) provides enough tension.

Donotello 03 Apr 2021
In reply to Flinticus:

The rope needs to remain taught throughout the climb so hang a bag or full water bottle off, there should be no resistance as you climb only when you fall. If you’re doing this and it’s not running up the rope smooth your rope is too thick or heaven forbid, you’ve got it on upside down. 

Never encountered this issue so I am concerned. 

Steve Claw 04 Apr 2021
In reply to Flinticus:

Can you send a photo of how you have the ascender setup?

You need to attach the correct karabiner at the top, and nothing at the bottom.

https://m.petzl.com/US/en/Sport/Installation-on-one-single-rope-with-two-as...

Post edited at 07:24
OP Flinticus 04 Apr 2021