Self rescue flowchart

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Osiris 14 Feb 2021

Just in case anyone is interested, I've been putting together a self rescue flowchart (leader and second). I've never seen a good one before and sifting through the plethora of books can be quite tiresome. Those interested, please have a nosey and suggest improvements. Ta.

What I have learnt is that direct belays and double ropes make serious situations much easier!

I'm no expert, but all the steps are thoroughly documented by a range of expert and experienced climbers. I've simply collated them. There are probably some errors in there. Also I'm not sure how many of these would work in reality as I've not practiced them. Please don't trust your life to my flowchart.

https://whimsical.com/second-rescue-3pfaeDw8woJSsYTMXTWXHk

https://whimsical.com/leader-rescue-HB4bNDGnzap2X6p2xjUuVX

Post edited at 18:05
 AlanLittle 14 Feb 2021
In reply to Osiris:

Good effort

> I've been putting together a self rescue flowchart ... create powerpoint if required

Made oi larf

OP Osiris 14 Feb 2021
In reply to AlanLittle:

Ah! Not clear enough I know. I have clearly just designed it for my own brain. I'll work on that. I'll have to add in the indirect/direct belay splits.

Unless you meant the other type of powerpoint. In which case, Hahah!

Post edited at 18:24
 Herdwickmatt 14 Feb 2021
In reply to Osiris:

You’ve missed the option of the belayer being within reach of rucksack containing a penknife. 

Great effort though! I’d never really thought the steps like that before.

OP Osiris 14 Feb 2021
In reply to Herdwickmatt:

That would be my first option, but depends how much I like the partner.

AlanLittle 14 Feb 2021
In reply to Osiris:

> Unless you meant the other type of powerpoint.

Yup

gravy 14 Feb 2021
In reply to Osiris: