Routes you'd never climb again

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 dinodinosaur 29 Mar 2020

I'm after routes you'd never climb again and the reason. 

For me it's Suicide Wall (E1 5c). That route is no joke. Being on the short side I felt it fairly desperate and is slippery as anything. There is good gear to back up the pegs, but I'm not going back for a repeat anytime soon if ever!

alan moore 29 Mar 2020
In reply to dinodinosaur:

Pretty much all of them.

I always feel a bit flat when repeating routes. I generally get more out of doing a crap route that I have never done before than repeating a good one.

cant explain it; might be a puerile ticking thing.

brianjcooper 29 Mar 2020

> I'm after routes you'd never climb again and the reason. 

> For me it's Suicide Wall (E1 5c). That route is no joke. Being on the short side I felt it fairly desperate and is slippery as anything. There is good gear to back up the pegs, but I'm not going back for a repeat anytime soon if ever!

Sadly I have to agree. Seconded it 30 years ago and the crux from the small ledge was like polished glass back then. Shame as it was a superb climb otherwise.

Post edited at 13:52
 ian caton 29 Mar 2020

Agreed, bloody awful climb. 

SFrancis 29 Mar 2020

Read the title of your post and immediately thought Suicide Wall (E1 5c), what an absolute horror show. 

EarlyBird 29 Mar 2020
 brianjcooper 29 Mar 2020
In reply to brianjcooper:

Oh! And anything at Stoney Middleton. 

I've taken two massive flyers off the crux of Suicide Wall, and I'm definitely smaller than you  

I'm never climbing Mars (E2 5b) again. Ever. 

tmawer 29 Mar 2020

Flat Iron Wall (E2 5b)

I won't be rushing back to repeat this one as still rather mentally scared by it. E1 5a in the Langdale guide....I don't think so!

Post edited at 14:45
 steve taylor 29 Mar 2020
In reply to Bruise Apprentice: