Recommendations for a first multipitch Lake District day

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tom Guitarist 27 Jun 2022

Hi all,

As per title I'm after some recommendations for a first multipitch trip to the Lakes. I'm fairly new to leading Trad and my climbing is getting back into it after a fairly big gap.

I think that we're going to try and keep the grade at a lowly V Diff or thereabouts for a first attempt so that we can focus on getting slick at changeovers etc. Fairly happy leading at S-HS on single pitch for context.

We've done some small 'multipitches' at The Roaches and Hen Cloud so are after something more mountainous etc. Happy with big walk-ins etc as my background is Hillwalking and scrambling. We'll be on a single 50m rope too.

We've done a load of reading up, but feel a bit spoiled for choice now! So happy to follow some more informed advice!

(We're heading up this coming Saturday and has to be Lakes as I'm staying up there for a few days)

​​​​​​

​​​​

RobAJones 27 Jun 2022
In reply to Tom Guitarist:

C Ordinary followed by a scramble down and then Giants Crawl on Dow 

a crap climber 27 Jun 2022

Couple of excellent days but potentially long out would be:

Middle fell buttress on Raven crag in Langdale, followed by the Curtain Wall continuation. Then walk up to Gimmer and do Gimmer Chimney.

Dow crag - up C Ordinary, down easy terrace (if you're happy down climbing grade 2 ground) then up Giants Crawl.

Tony Buckley 27 Jun 2022
In reply to RobAJones:

C Ordinary is a fine suggestion.  Whilst it's up to the OP to make their own choice, I'd go for ArĂȘte, Chimney and Crack (Summer) (S 3c) over Giant's Crawl (Summer) (D).  Nothing wrong with GC, but for a first time out on a single 50 GC might prove nervous.

T.

petegunn 27 Jun 2022

If it's wet Corvus (D) is a good route and can be climbed in "all weathers" and at an easier grade.

Graeme Hammond 27 Jun 2022