Is Agag's a suitable first multi-pitch trad route

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 DizzyVizion 08 Aug 2019

I plan on climbing Agag's Groove sometime in the next few weeks with my brother, which will be the first multi-pitch trad route for either of us, and I just wondered how it compares to other people's first multi-pitch trad routes? I have some single pitch trad experience (my brother more so). I'll lead the 2nd pitch; which could well be my first time leading a pitch if we don't get out to Traprain Law beforehand (married with child so time away is always a point of contention). Anyone know of any other routes between Glen Coe and the central belt of Scotland that could make a good first time multi-pitch route?Having  been up Curved Ridge a couple of times and seen Agag's in the flesh, any other suggested  route would have to be pretty special for us to consider changing our plans. What was your first multi-pitch trad route? And how much experience had you beforehand? Thanks in advance.

Coel Hellier 08 Aug 2019
In reply to DizzyVizion:

> I'll lead the 2nd pitch; which could well be my first time leading a pitch ...

Overall it's a reasonable choice, but setting off on that second pitch would be pretty intimidating for someone who hasn't led anything before!     There are lots of less full-on ways of gaining experience.

DaveHK 08 Aug 2019
In reply to DizzyVizion:

It's not a daft idea but some of the Diff/VDiff combos on Aonach Dubh might be a better choice.

Route Adjuster 08 Aug 2019
In reply to DizzyVizion:

Things to consider:  

- What happens if you freak out leading the later pitches, what's your exit strategy, have you any experience of getting off a crag safely if you've never done multi-pitch before - or if no experience have you even thought about what might be involved or what you might need to do?