Help me find an alpine rock climbing goal

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 brunoschull 02 Mar 2019

Hi everybody.  My ice climbing season is over, and my mind is turning to spring training, and summer rock climbs.  I hope the community can help me find some specific rock climbing routes to dream about, train for, and possibly climb! 

Here are some details:

I live in Switzerland, so anything in the land of cheese and cows is fair game, as well as anything in France, Italy, or Austria (within reason).  The only place that's "off limits" is Chamonix...I've been there many times, and I want to branch out. 

I have plenty of experience in the mountains--glaciers, approaches, route finding and terrain, snow and ice, trad gear, and so are all fine--the only thing is, I'm a really poor rock climber!   I have lead a few 6a pitches here and there in the mountains, but I'm far more comfortable in the 5a-5b range.  That said, a 5b hand crack in Chamonix can be impossible for me!  And I've struggled on some sandbagged fourth grade pitches as well.  I plan to focus a great deal on hand strength and technique this spring, so hopefully I can improve my rock climbing skills, but please bear in mind my limited ability when recommending climbs.  Because I do want something to shoot for--something to really inspire me--I was thinking of trying to find a climb generally in my range, with perhaps one of two 6a pitches.  But it can be easier too, if it's really special!

I am looking for something long and beautiful in the mountains, maybe 8-12 pitches or more. 

I love granite, but I'm a really bad crack climber!  So, granite preferably, as long as it doesn't involved sustained, true cracks.  Gneis is OK.  Limestone considered if it's long, high, and alpine in nature, perhaps like some of the long climbs in the Dolomites.