COVID Climbing Partners

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Dom Goodwin 26 May 2020

Usually, I have a fairly high degree of “climbing promiscuity”, probably at least 20 different climbing partners in the last year, for example. In good weather, I like to climb most days. While I do have quite a few fairly regular partners, being happy to climb with random people - pretty much whoever wants to climb at the time - certainly helps!

In the current situation, my take is that some risk of infection to or from a climbing partner is inevitable. Rather than being pedantic about constantly maintaining arbitrary 2m distances, climbing on separate racks, setting up weird inconvenient socially distant belays where it’s problematic to pass gear, labelling ends of ropes (!!!!!), it seems to me more sensible to adopt a pragmatic approach. I’m going to keep distance from my climbing partners as much as is reasonably possible and certainly hope to always keep away from other parties.

It seems to me that as some infection risk is unavoidable, the best policy is to limit number of climbing partners as well as climbing locally at quieter times/crags. So I’m trying to stick to around 5 carefully chosen fairly regular (hopefully!) partners. 

I’m not having much luck with this currently as my previous most regular partner now works full time as a doctor, two other regular partners are carrying injuries (luckily, one is still able to climb through it), another is cautious and doesn’t want to climb yet (fair enough) and someone else had their bike nicked!

My logbook suggests under normal circumstances, soloing represents around 20% of my climbing (feels about right - sometimes, I like to get out on the rock alone and untrammelled with gear). Lately, soloing has accounted for more like 80% of my climbing, and when it feels enforced rather than a deliberate choice and means inevitably repeating the same lower grade routes, it somewhat diminishes the enjoyment.