Auchinstarry Quarry - Help create detailed TOPO

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 StevenF 19 Mar 2020

Hi folks,

I'm new to both outdoor and trad climbing and spent a great day leading some routes in Auchinstarry Quarry today. I used my copy of SMC Lowlands Outcrops to find routes within my ability to climb, but I found the sketches of the rock and routes hard to interpret. I thought it would be a good idea to try and create a more modern topo with photographs of the crag. My idea was to have members use my images and draw routes that they have climbed and name them as per the book. You can use whatever you want; MS paint, snap chat, Instagram . It doesn't have to look pretty - If I get a decent amount of replies, I will add them all into the original image so that there is one high resolution images available for people to download with the routes attached. 

Car park Crag

Link to image: https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/49677225336_8076cb79de_o.jpg

I've started by drawing in the routes I lead today

11 - Mister, Ye can walk up roon the back (S)
17 - Scream (S)
18 - Anarchist (VD)

Back Wall

https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/49677313013_0d5e58308c_o.jpg

Let me know if you think this is worthwhile and please add your routes if you have the time  

*UK climbing will not let me post the image within the post, so I've included a link to the image on my Flickr page. You can choose to download the file in high resolution which allows you to zoom in and see the routes. 

Thanks 

Post edited at 00:04
 Mark Bull 20 Mar 2020
In reply to StevenF:

Yes, I think that would be helpful! There used to be some on the long-defunct Scottish Climbs site, but the only survivor seems to be https://www.scottishclimbs.com/wiki/File_AuchinstarryCarPark.html which is rather small and pre-dates the last round of council "stabilisation" work.