Training Courses for Trad

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Rob Exile Ward 18 Jul 2019

My son (24) has been climbing off an on for years, but is starting to get more seriously interested. I'm just one mass of self-taught bad habits, so I wondered if anyone has opinions on training courses he might go on (he also has a birthday coming up!)

E.g. the 2 day P-y-B leading courses - anyone been? Recommend or otherwise? Suggest alternatives? 

jezb1 18 Jul 2019
In reply to Rob Exile Ward:

Well I can suggest myself! Http://www.jbmountainskills.co.uk

Theres loads of good independents around, that way you know who you’re getting.

Post edited at 10:45
 inglesp 18 Jul 2019

Can recommend the 2-day leading courses at PyB -- I learnt a lot and the instruction was well suited to our background and needs.  It was everything I expected from a place with PyB's reputation.

Can also recommend jezb1, who I've met once while he was mentoring an MIA trainee I was out with.  He came across as competent, interesting, and interested.

two_tapirs 18 Jul 2019

another vote for PYB; we took the 2 day course and it was ideal for teaching us that basics before heading outside on our own

asteclaru 18 Jul 2019

I'm a bit of a 'PyB regular', having done probably more than a dozen courses there in the last couple of years.

There are 2 main reasons I keep going back: