Liquid chalk allergy

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 annawells89 23 Dec 2019

My local climbing wall have recently introduced a "no loose chalk" policy so that now we have to use liquid chalk. It's something I've never used before and have discovered I seem to be allergic. I have a very itchy rash between all my fingers at the bases, which has got progressively worse since I started using liquid chalk. It's a bit like a sweaty heat rash (not "dry skin"), its driving me crazy  now! I wash my hands very thoroughly  after climbing but it doesn't seem to help. I've tried a couple of different brands. Anyone have any experience of this or advice?! 

Thank you!

Luke_92 23 Dec 2019
In reply to annawells89:

I dont have any advice about the liquid chalk, but are you allowed to use a chalk ball? Most places seem to accept that they aren't "loose" chalk.

Removed User 23 Dec 2019
In reply to annawells89:

How about applying a barrier cream beforehand. It might be counterproductive of course.

Or use a different wall...

OP annawells89 23 Dec 2019
In reply to Luke_92:

no chalk balls (or chalk bags). Even for bouldering! It's interesting and at first i was missing the psychological boost of "chalking up"! But it makes for much cleaner air and cleaner holds, and I'm surprised how little I miss the nornal chalk! 

In reply to Removed User:

Thanks maybe its worth a try to try a barrier cream  

It's the only wall within an hour, plus it's a really great wall!

MischaHY 23 Dec 2019
In reply to annawells89:

How odd. That seems like it would be a real nightmare for people with sweaty hands, quite aside from the fact that chalk is too big in particle size to be counted as an air pollutant. 

It may be a mild allergic reaction to the alcohol in the liquid chalk. You could try this from Friction Labs which is alcohol free: https://www.alpinetrek.co.uk/friction-labs-secret-stuff-alcohol-free-chalk/