is it frowned upon ...

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 finn rc 09 Jan 2020

i have been climbing for 13 years almost and at the age of 16 you would have thought i would be outside climbing big things by now however due to my father and grandfather passing i have no climbing partner to climb outdoors with so ive found myself doing a lot of indoor bouldering and in an effort to get outside i was wondering if it is socially acceptable to use old mattresses instead of a specific bouldering crash pad (im not able to afford one at the moment as im saving for a car) for when im bouldering outdoors

Post edited at 00:36
 kristian Global Crag Moderator 09 Jan 2020
In reply to finn rc:

You can do what you like. You will only be frowned upon if you're causing damage, which it won't. You may get funny looks.

I used old foam mattresses in the mid 90S and before that concrete or mud.

In reply to finn rc:

Spotted a mattress dumped at the crag the other day... if you're happy to carry it in and then take it home again go for it.

Personally I'd favour staying low or chatting to other climbers and seeing of you can join in, they might let your share a mat if working a problem together.

Good luck

Enty 09 Jan 2020
In reply to finn rc:

I made my first ever bouldering mat out of some foam, a sheet of canvas, a square of carpet, carpet glue and duct tape. Cost me less than a tenner and lasted years.

E

Andy Gamisou 09 Jan 2020
In reply to kristian:

> I used old foam mattresses in the mid 90S and before that concrete or mud.

Sure you didn't use the "bouldering mat" of the day - the ubiquitous beer mat.  Mine was that old war horse McEwans tartan bitter beer mat (liberated from Killingworth social club, if I rightly remember).  For high balls I often opted for Newcastle Brown mat.

GrahamD 09 Jan 2020
In reply to finn rc:

Good luck trying to get old mattresses anywhere.  They're bloody heavy and awkward. 

GDes 09 Jan 2020
In reply to finn rc: