How long should someone keep their project closed?? Quick Survey

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Davidpaul17 10 Nov 2022
Thread moved from Rockfax to Rocktalk

Ran into a climber at a crag today (not in the UK) who has a private project.  I politely asked him if I could give it a try since I have climbed every other route at the crag.  He said no, it's closed.  So I  asked how long do people usually keep projects here? His response -  "As long as they want...they can keep it closed their whole life?"

Survey - How long should someone keep their project closed?

A. 1 year

B.  Indefinitely

C. Private projects are stupid and should be opened to everyone shortly after bolting.

Andypeak 10 Nov 2022
In reply to Davidpaul17:

C. No climber owns the crag or a route. 

In reply to Davidpaul17:

Oh hai

C Witter 10 Nov 2022
In reply to Davidpaul17:

I've no firsthand experience of this, but my impression is that there are no firm rules. It's just etiquette that if someone goes to the trouble of bolting a route and they want to get the FA, you try to respect that. But, if they're not good enough to send the route within the limits of your patience, then you get on it.

(Indeed, if the other person isn't around and you don't report your ascent, then who's to know and who's harmed?)

As with most things in life, you should do what you think is justifiable and what you wouldn't mind being done to you.

Moacs 10 Nov 2022
In reply to Davidpaul17:

Honest question.  Why don't folk, that really, really want the FA of a line, work it on TR until they're ready to redpoint, and then put the bolts in?

FactorXXX 10 Nov 2022
In reply to Moacs:

> Honest question.  Why don't folk, that really, really want the FA of a line, work it on TR until they're ready to redpoint, and then put the bolts in?

It might be too steep to make top roping it a realistic proposition.