Swapping the a7rII for something smaller for skiing / climbing..?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 dvidg 22 Feb 2023

I'm very fortunate to be spending a few years in British Columbia, so naturally I want to capture the scene when out ski-touring, trail running, hiking and climbing! Although I'm a pretty experienced photographer, I often find myself leaving the camera at home because it's just too big, bulky and expensive - I've got an a7s, a7rII and a collection for FE glass. I love the a7r II (paired with the 24-105 f4 it's an amazing do-it-all camera), but I just can't ski or climb well with it in my pack.

So let's pretend I'm selling all my full-frame gear, what would you swap to?

• Fast autofocus to capture skiing
  • Good aftermarket lenses (love the Sony E mount because there are so many options from Tamron / Sigma / etc)
  • Decent battery life (bonus if it uses the Sony batteries I've already got loads of)
  • Small size & light weight to fit in my climbing pack

I've already for a Sony RX100 VII for ultralight trips.

I like the look of the a6600 but some people criticise the colour science, low light performance and user experience. The Fuji XT-4 is another classic - but it's that little bit bigger, heavier and without the range of lenses of the Sony system.

Post edited at 17:12
 jezb1 22 Feb 2023
In reply to dvidg:

I use an a6600 which I'm very happy with. I get tempted to go the other way and swap to an A7r, but the size of the a6600 makes it more manageable, although far from compact.

The a6600 uses bigger batteries than the other 6000 series models, same as the A7 I think.

Alex Riley 22 Feb 2023
In reply to jezb1:

A7c? Full frame in a 6000 sized body.

65 22 Feb 2023
In reply to dvidg:

Fuji XT5? Slightly smaller than the XT4 and more stills oriented.

The lens selection for the Fuji X system is outstanding.

OP dvidg 22 Feb 2023
In reply to Alex Riley: