Suggestions welcome - cheap (used), durable and quick to turn on

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 sabostar 14 Apr 2023

I've long switched between and DSLR and a compact camera - I never seem to quite get on with either. The DSLR is too much weight and faff, while the compact takes average photos and takes and age to turn on.

Has anyone got any suggestions for a camera that meets the following criteria:

• Cheapish used - sub £200 inc lens if needed
  • Reasonably durable - doesn't need to be rugged
  • Quick to turn on 

I was considering a mirrorless camera but am open to suggestions. I'm not a pro, and have much to learn.

I'll mostly use it for cragging, hill walking at the occasional alpine trip.

ianstevens 14 Apr 2023
In reply to sabostar:

Sounds like you want a mirrorless camera - although with the right skills you can get great pictures from a compact.

Your limiting factor here is your budget - even used, £200 won't get you much. IMO at this price point you're better off spending £200 extra on your next phone to get one with a better camera.

In reply to sabostar:

My first foray into micro 4/3 was a used Olympus OMD 10 with a 14-42 lens from MPB. It cost just over £200 and I have been really impressed by it and it has now become my take everywhere camera.

Will Rupp 14 Apr 2023
In reply to sabostar:

Sony a5100. Can get for that price with the kit lens on eBay. Have used it loads without a case, attached to my harness and never broken it 

montyjohn 14 Apr 2023
In reply to sabostar:

I'm tempted by a Canon M10 for £200 (a few on eBay at that price). 

Cheap, small, fast. A little long in the tooth but still relevant.

Uses the smaller mount EF-M lenses.

[1] - https://kenrockwell.com/canon/eos-m/m10.htm

OP sabostar 14 Apr 2023
In reply to Will Rupp:

Which lens do you use?

OP sabostar 14 Apr 2023
In reply to keith-ratcliffe:

Do you carry it in your pocket?

OP sabostar 14 Apr 2023
In reply to Will Rupp: