Shutter release cable with screen.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Russell Lovett 31 May 2017
Im after a shutter release cable for my canon 5d mark 1. The kind of thing im after also has a small screen so you can see what your shooting when your camara is on a long pole to get shoots of climbers/boulderers from above without having to dangle on a rope. Iv tried google with no success so can anyone help me with the name the piece of equipment im after. The mark 1 does not have wifi so i cant link it to a mobil phone.
 FactorXXX 31 May 2017
In reply to Russell Lovett:

How about tethering it to a laptop?
 Fraser 31 May 2017

Funnily enough I've been wondering about this lately too. The best idea I came up with was to set to interval timer (to be guess-timated by the pace of the climber) and a long O-T-G cable, taped along the pole and connected to a mobile/tablet.
 Mehmet Karatay 31 May 2017

I have no direct experience of this but is this the sort of thing you're looking for: https://www.cnet.com/uk/how-to/control-a-dslr-camera-with-your-android-phon...

Mehmet
Mabe iv got this all wrong and the eqipment im looking for does not excist, maybe what i saw was a long shutter cable and another cable attached to a screen that goes up to a small camara also attached to the top of the pole which will give a similar view to your main camara so you will know the optimal moment to capture your intended shot?
 richprideaux 31 May 2017

Possibly a small GoPro (Session) or other action camera that you can live-view through an app? Then you mount it to the top of the DSLR through a hotshoe mount? I have achieved similar by doing exactly that.
 Blue Straggler 31 May 2017

What you are looking for doesn't exist. When consumer digital was very new I thought that this would become an obvious development but it never came to light.