Robust compact camera for the outdoors

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 icehockeyhair 27 Apr 2019

I'm looking for advice for a replacement for my Olympus Mju 850SW camera which I have been using for around 10 years. Essentially I want a similar compact, robust camera that I can take out and not have to worry about but I would like a better picture quality which I presume I can get from a more modern camera. As a comparison, I'd be looking for a picture quality similar to my phone which I've used on a couple of nice weather days but don't want to take out on a nasty Scottish winter climbing day. For the record it is an iPhone SE which seems to be ~12 megapixels and my mju 8 megapixels.

Any recommendations from users here would be very useful. 

From the internet and previous posts there appear to be a number of possible alternatives. The Olympus Tough TG4/5 which is recommended by many. However, the Tough cameras are bigger and perhaps are a bit more faff to carry in your jacket chest pocket or trouser pocket (mju is around 2/3 of the size).

I'm also concerned the glass in front of the tough-4/5 lens could get easily scratched. Does anyone have any experience with this? The mju has a lens cover that moves away when the camera is switched on so I have never even bothered with a case for it and it is still going strong after all this time. It seems you need to buy a conversion ring to fit a lens cap to the tough cameras.

Panasonic DMC FT30 seems smaller and more compact but not sure how good it is. Has anyone used it?

Luke90 27 Apr 2019
In reply to icehockeyhair:

In the great UKC tradition of answering a different question to the one actually asked...

If you're happy with the photos your phone takes, have you considered a tough, waterproof case for the phone with a lanyard? For much less than the price of a worthwhile camera you could get a pretty bombproof case.

OP icehockeyhair 27 Apr 2019
In reply to Luke90: