Processing tips

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 JStearn 16 Oct 2020

I'm just starting out in photography and looking for some advice regarding editing to achieve certain sorts of look. I am using a Sony A7ii with a few prime lenses. The first is this sort of glossy look (I know Instagram is not the best for image quality but even there you can see the difference clearly in my shots and the look I am talking about.) It seems to be quite saturated without looking unnatural and very sharp. Obviously these guys are professionals and shooting in good light with good lenses but all their photos have this consistent 'glassiness' or pop to them. My lenses aren't the best but I think it is a matter of technique rather than gear. Are there any processing methods or other advice that can help to achieve this? 

Some examples: 

https://www.instagram.com/hamishfrost

https://www.instagram.com/stucornell

Mine for comparison: https://www.instagram.com/jbstearn/

The second look I am interested in is this hazy 'dreamy' style, which is almost the opposite of the previous style. Is this using the Orton effect? https://www.instagram.com/chris_frost_photography/

I am not looking to copy these styles as I would like to develop my own, but I would like to know how to capture and process to achieve these looks to increase my options when creating an image.

The Lemming 16 Oct 2020
In reply to JStearn:

I don't use instagram and the links don't come out too well on my phone.

But to me some of the shots may be HDR. Nothing wrong with that.

Some have filters over the lens at the moment of capture and some have had filters applied by software.

Personally I'm not competent enough to stylise my images and just try to tart the colors a little bit and add a little sharpen here and there.

Maybe give Luminar a try?

It's a bit more forgiving than Lightroom with a lower learning curve for results that pop.

HeMa 16 Oct 2020
In reply to The Lemming: