Flickr and other Photo Sites

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 MeMeMe 06 Jun 2022

So Flickr keeps threatening to delete my photos because I've not got Flickr Pro and I've got more than the limit for the free service. I could sign up to Flickr Pro but I could also sign up to one of the many other Photo Sites.

What does everyone else use?

I don't even take many photos any more, I'm mostly just concerned about having safe (and hopefully cheap!) storage for what I've got.

JDal 06 Jun 2022
In reply to MeMeMe:

Biggest problem for Fickr for me is that it won't accept raw files, so I use it as a "last resort" backup, if my local backups fail, at least I have a jpg. It's also a bit messy separating backups from shots you are publishing. If you just use jpg it's a good option

Paulhesketh 07 Jun 2022
In reply to MeMeMe:

I have an Adobe CC subscription. I have about a Tb of photo's stored on an external hard drive but Adobe allows these (not the raws) to be sync'd to cloud allowing me to view/edit from any device connected to the tinernet.

I also then do weekly back ups onto 2 other hard disks one located at home the other at work. I have a Flickr account but just use this for public sharing of my fav photos. I used to use Backblaze but moved to hard drives as my internet connection was too slow.

For you I think it depends on what you want to achieve...

1. Personal viewing your photos & sharing with friends? (Do you have Amazon prime as this is included)

2. Personal viewing your photos and sharing with the public/friends? (As Flickr but requires payment?)

3. Just back up? (Amazon Prime, Hard drive or Backblaze for example)

Lots of other options as well......

Post edited at 12:37
 StefanB 07 Jun 2022
In reply to Paulhesketh: