Flashgun advice?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Graeme G 24 May 2021

Due to the current situation my daughter will unfortunately be graduating from home. So the pressure is on me to be the official photographer.

I've never used a proper flash before and am hoping the UKC collective might help with some thoughts.

I’ll be using an A6400. Reviews suggest the Godox 860, but that looks huge? Debating around a used Sony 42 from Ffordes? I don’t want to but the Sony 45 or 60 new as they just seem like complete overkill, and expensive.

Any advice, anyone? I think the main thing I need to know how is how high a guide number do I really need? I like Arthur Rs YouTube reviews and he suggests a Meike 320 ( guide between 20-32 apparently).

John 24 May 2021
In reply to Graeme G:

First off, dont use a flash. I'd personally have a very noisy image, while using what light there is, over most uses of flash.

When i do use one its a Nissin I40 on Sony's. With the compensation -2 or -3 stops in camera and also -1 or -2 on the flash a little, so it cant been seen much. And preferably bounced off a wall to the side. I bring it as a just in case, but it stays in the bag.

If any fill is needed in day light i boost in post. Or would prefer a bounce.

Post edited at 12:01
OP Graeme G 24 May 2021
In reply to John:

Thanks, that’s helpful. Not really familiar with using one I’m not convinced it’s a worthwhile purchase. I had considered the i40. Our house isn’t particularly well laid out or lit for portrait photos, so trying to convince her she’s not going to get her professional quality mantelpiece photo is hard. She’s really disappointed so trying to do the best I can.

John 24 May 2021
In reply to Graeme G:

Ive always been a mirror-less shooter and therefore like to see how the shot will come out before i take it. Flash is guessing and therefore needs experience of use or a lot of trial and error.