DSLR vs Mirrorless

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 TomAlford 03 Jan 2018
Sorry in advance for another 'this is what I do what camera should I get' post

So after a few trips to the alps, I've begun to teach myself photography and editing. I've been shooting on a borrowed budget DSLR with a kit lens, and am looking to both get my own setup but also try and improve my images. Now, I'm very new to this, but it seems to me that a light DSLR that I won't break or freeze ends up being something very top-end. However, a mirrorless such as the Sony Alpha a7 or a6500, or even the Canon EOS M series can be kept in a chest pocket, and many now have interchangeable lenses.

I understand that many people swear by DSLRs, but I feel that now you can buy a light mirrorless with the ability to change lenses for less than a grand, buying mirrorless is a no brainer, especially when the hardest thing is actually having your camera in your hand when you need it.

So what are peoples' experiences? Do you find a DSLR no problem at all, or does mirrorless provide inferior image quality (especially in low light levels), making a cumbersome DSLR worth the effort? Also, any advice on lenses for shooting in the mountains would be very much appreciated, I am leaning towards a 35mm and something narrower for close-up climbing shots.

Thanks in advance!

balmybaldwin 03 Jan 2018
In reply to TomAlford:

Depend8ng on the morrorless option you choose, some are very restricted on available lenses (and some with an adapter take a normal slr lens) this will put off a lot of established photographers as the money mainly goes i to lenses and not camera bodies... and lenses take a lot longer (40yrs) to become obsolete.

Personally I wouldn't go for mirrorless unless I was sure the format was around to stay.