Comparison Sony A6000 and RX100

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Martin Hore 06 Jan 2018
A conundrum for the camera experts out there. (I take lots of photos when climbing/mountaineering but I don't count myself an expert).

I've been using a Sony RX100 (Mk1) for four years or so. It suits me well as the image quality is pretty good for a compact and its weight and size allow me to carry it everywhere on my rucksack strap or harness.

I'm off to African game parks next month so I'm looking to upgrade to something that will allow me to fit a long zoom lens, but still be portable as above - A CSC seems the logical choice.

I thought the Sony A6000 might do the job. (The budget might stretch to the A6300 or A6500 but I'm not convinced they are worth more than double the price.)

Anyway, to get to the point, yesterday I took my RX100 to the local Jessops where they have the A6000 in stock fitted with the standard 16 - 50 kit lens. I took a set of identical pictures (as far as possible) with each camera set on auto ISO and programm mode in a variety of situations, indoor and out, at all points of the zoom range. I get them home and guess what. The RX100 has significantly outperformed the A6000 for image quality on every shot. Not what I expected at all given that the A6000 has a 24 mp APSC sensor as compared to the 20mp "1 inch" compact sensor on the RX100.

I can think of several possible reasons:

The standard kit lens with the A6000 just isn't as good a piece of glass as the fixed lens on the RX100.
The A6000 kit lens has smaller max apertures than the RX100 lens throughout the zoom range (so I was generally shooting at higher ISOs and/or slower shutter speeds with the A6000)
The A6000 might have been knocked about a bit as a shop demo camera.