Cleaning a camera sensor

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

I've tired of removing the dust spots on images and a thorough clean of lenses and filters hasn't stopped them appearing so, inevitably, it's time to clean the sensor.

I've never done this before so am after hints, tips, recommendations of things to do or avoid, stuff I should use, might use, must avoid under all circumstances, that kind of thing.  It'll be a positive use of social downtime in the prevailing circumstances too.  So, care to share any thoughts before I delve into the apparently dusty innards of my camera?

Thanks in advance,

T. 

The Lemming 20 Mar 2020
In reply to Pursued by a bear:

My own personal experiences of cleaning camera sensors are that they are more robust than you think.

However using compressed-air cannisters is a bad idea. I did destroy a sensor with one after the propellant froze/condensed on the sensor.

The best method I have found which has been successful is to create a swab out of a cereal box. I cut a strip of card about 1mm smaller than the width of the sensor.

I then folded tissue paper used to clean lenses around the small swab.

Then I put a couple of drops of Isopropyl alcohol onto the tissue paper, and swiped the sensor several times in the same direction.

Another method for removing dust from the internals of the camera is to create a dust-free room. A simple way would be to run a hot shower in a bathroom to create a warm humid climate. That way dust particles would hopefully be removed from the room air. I would the go into the room with my camera and use a hand-held air-blower to blast any possible dust particles from inside the camera body.

Removed User 20 Mar 2020

My company used to make them.

If we got dust on the array we would take it off with the finest artist's paint brush you can buy.