camera settings, post editing, etc..

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mauraman 25 Mar 2020

I have learned photography when the digital era was still in the future. for more than 20 years I have been a keen photographer. black and white and slides. I had a long gap of no photos and always told myself that, when the digital cameras will reach full format quality, I would buy one. I am now dipping my toes on digital photography and very recently bought a Lumix 100 TZ, just to experiment with, before committing to more serious equipment and also because I can easily bring it with me anywhere, especially climbing. I do have a good grasp of the principles as they are still the same as for analog pics.

I keep seeing lots of wonderful shots, many of which have magazine quality look, despite being shot by non pros. I understand that some of it might be heavily post edited, sometimes with sky replacement and "mood" masks, etc.. 

So..I am taking pictures mostly with the camera set on aperture priority, standard mode, contrast and saturation both set at  +2 and noise reduction at -2.  White balance is in Auto mode. As for exposure, I use the usual tools of the trade as bracketing, AE lock when required etc...

I post edit some pictures, sometimes adjusting exposure, contrast, etc... to the whole picture or part of it but I do not want to use heavy editing such as sky replacement etc.. as I would like the photos, especially landscapes, to reflect fairly closely what I was seeing at that moment.

So far I didn't manage to attain the "glossy", 'magazine like" quality I see in many of the published photos I see on social media, especially when the sky is greyish and featurless (no Clouds) which is quite often, unfortunately.

so, Any tips? Where am i going wrong?

P. S do not refer to the photos in the gallery here as they where taken with a low res mobile phone, long time ago. (some recent photos on FB: Mauro Solive)

Thanks!