Any rugby players in the room?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The Lemming 24 Apr 2017

I've never done any sporting action shots before and would very much appreciate advice on how these turned out with a recent match between Kirby Lonsdale and Blackburn?

I appreciate that many of the images are noisey but the ISO was bumped up to over a 1600 even though it was a bright day. That way I could keep the shutter speed close to my hand held zooming.

Cheers muchly

https://www.flickr.com/photos/the1lemming/albums/72157679800299493
Post edited at 00:08
 Tom Last 24 Apr 2017
In reply to The Lemming:

They're good Lemming, nice light and good action well captured.I guess if you want to drop the noise a bit you could try shooting a bit wider at 4.5 or something, that's about where I usually sit my lens for rugby or football. As a general rule of thumb I find larger ball sports (rugby/football etc.) need to be shot at 1/1000 sec or faster to freeze motion and smaller ball sports (cricket etc.) at 1/2000 sec or faster. With that as a starting point you can work backwards and crank down your ISO as low as possible.
Cheers!
 arch 24 Apr 2017
In reply to The Lemming:

I wonder if the scrum half got done for a tip tackle ??

They look alright to me, but then I'm a rugby player, not a photographer.......
OP The Lemming 24 Apr 2017
In reply to arch:

> I wonder if the scrum half got done for a tip tackle ??They look alright to me, but then I'm a rugby player, not a photographer.......

When taking shots of climbing, I know what I'm roughly after as I've been climbing and taking photos of climbing for a long time. But with another sport, like rugby which I last played at school and only watch during World Cups, then I don't know exactly what I'm shooting, which is probably why I just left my finger on the shutter and took 1,800 frames.