Where to teach/climb/live

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Emmapickett 12 Dec 2019

Looking at moving somewhere near rocks where I can teach.

Im currently an NQT science teacher and i hate driving forty minutes to pull on plastic. Looking for reccomendations of where to live/teach/climb. 

Currently considering bristol or near the peaks (Leicester/sheffield). Would like recommendations for somewhere with good schools, a climbing gym (preferably within walking/cycling distance) and real rock drivable within 30-45 mins  

Thanks!

earlsdonwhu 12 Dec 2019
In reply to Emmapickett:

Having taught for 36 years, I would say finding the right place to teach is most important. Climbing not being on the doorstep is an inconvenience but teaching for 8 plus hours a day in a 'poor' school will be utterly soul destroying and will leave you so listless that going climbing will be the last thing on your mind.

The New NickB 12 Dec 2019
In reply to Emmapickett:

Sheffield, Leeds, Manchester, Liverpool. Lots of job choice so you can choose the right school / job (the most important thing). Also you will be able to find somewhere to live that puts you in reasonable distance of work, climbing wall and outdoor.

TMM 12 Dec 2019
In reply to Emmapickett:

Have you considered the SW?

Exeter is a thriving little city these days and gives you quick access to Dartmoor, inland limestone as well as great coastal climbing. 

Basemetal 12 Dec 2019
In reply to Emmapickett:

Fort William

alan moore 12 Dec 2019
In reply to Emmapickett:

In an ideal world with no strings I would chose the north western seaboard of the peak.

Evenings on gritstone, days out in N Wales, Eastern Edges, Yorks and Lakes, weekends in Gower and Pembroke, witsun in Scotland, holidays in Cornwall.

Robert Durran 12 Dec 2019
In reply to alan moore:

> In an ideal world with no strings I would chose the north western seaboard of the peak.