TV licence for business

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 supersteve 30 Nov 2022

One of our company locations has received a TV licencing letter stating they should either apply for a licence or confirm they don't need one. Can they just ignore it? I'm pretty sure we had something similar when the Euro's were on so assume this is a standard letter whilst the World Cup is on because folks are watching the footie at work. 

gethin_allen 30 Nov 2022
In reply to supersteve:

If you don't have a TV just ignore them as I've been doing for the last 14 years. If you watch TV you need a license.

gravy 30 Nov 2022
In reply to supersteve:

Ignore it.  If you're lucky you'll get one each month building up to a frenzy of threats before it resets back to this original one.

Obvs if your company needs a license you should get one but if it doesn't you are under no obligation to reply to this guff.

If the TV people turn up they only have power to inspect your equipment if you have equipment (this power is on the books so that they can check you aren't watching colour TV on a B+W license and is essentially obsolete). No equipment, no right to inspect. 

While this is out-of-date wrt to the modern world they don't have a right to inspect anything just because you have a computer or internet so just politely ask them to leave and don't give them any details including your name or anything else and don't answer any questions.  They know the score they will politely leave when asked with no bother.

OP supersteve 30 Nov 2022
In reply to gravy:

Thanks both - that's what I thought. If anyone is sat watching telly during the day then it's an HR issue rather than a TV licencing issue. 

Neil Williams 30 Nov 2022
In reply to supersteve:

> If anyone is sat watching telly during the day then it's an HR issue rather than a TV licencing issue.