The latest HS2 scandal

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Offwidth 17 Dec 2018

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2018/dec/17/hs2-misled-mps-about-cost-o...

It is highly unlikely this project would have been approved by MPs even at the current estimated cost. Can this still be stopped or is it the biggest 'runaway train' in history? Some independant estimates of cost claim the real figure is closer to £80 billion.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-23744619

Since we were already at £56 billion before todays news broke, the old cost worries now look plain silly.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2013/sep/26/hs2-budget-david-higgins-ne...

To anticipate the usual HS2 arguments, claiming I'm biased and ignorant, I'm an Engineer and have always supported well costed rail investemnts. For me investment in rail infrastucture away from London , especially in the north of England,  should have been a massively bigger priority. Instead we have this growing money pit sucking any possibility away from such sensible spending.

NorthernGrit 17 Dec 2018
In reply to Offwidth:

Of course it can be stopped. I doubt it will however, particularly under the current government.

Post edited at 09:33
 Rob Exile Ward 17 Dec 2018
In reply to Offwidth:

Seems to me we are currently rudderless, the government is in complete meltdown over Brexit and has no time or energy for anything else. The Labour party (and even the LibDems, dear God) are staring at open goals and are just turning round and trotting back up the pitch. The news is so much dominated by Brexit that the scandal that is Crossrail hardly caused a ripple.

HS2 MUST be stopped, we don't need another £80 billion vanity project, we need 80 £1 billion investments.

Richard J 17 Dec 2018
In reply to Offwidth: