Testing people with coronavirus symptoms

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 jonny taylor 18 May 2020

I'm puzzled by the apparent emphasis on testing people who *already have symptoms of Covid19*. This seems rather back-to-front to me - surely it makes sense to focus limited testing resource on people who don't have symptoms, but who you really don't want to be spreading the disease (e.g. medical staff, care home workers). I know there is increasing amounts of that precautionary testing going on (as announced today in Scotland, for example), but it seems odd that that's not the main priority.

Anyone fancy speculating about why that is? The only purposes I can see would be to reassure those who have symptoms that turn out not to be Covid that they can continue without self-isolating, monitoring mutations of the virus, or providing certainty for epidemiological tracking. I'm no expert, but I'd have guessed that picking out asymptomatic spreaders in vulnerable areas would be at least as important as any of those factors...

In reply to jonny taylor:

If you are separating care facilities into 'COVID' and 'non-COVID' sides, then it's probably a good idea to know into which side patients should be sent (false negative rate here is the worry).

In order to identify the asymptomatic, you'd have to keep regularly testing the entire population (less the already positive results). Which we clearly cannot do with the resources we have.

If you assume that prior infection confers immunity (unconfirmed so far, but more normal for such infections), then those found to be previously infected might continue life less restricted, and would need no further testing. Depending, that is, on the false positive rate of the test, and the ability for tests to detect previous, overcome infections (which doesn't seem the case except for more complex antibody tests by the likes of Porton Down), and the social acceptability/public health risk of such a move.