Tell me about exit strategies.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 DaveHK 26 Mar 2020

I know another COVID-19 thread. C'est la vie.

I'm a teacher and I've produced a couple of online resources for pupils on some of the science behind the current situation.

Thus far I've done one on why schools closed and another explaining the IC model that has proved so critical in changing policy.

I've found the threads on here very useful as there are clearly people on here who have a much better grasp of this than I do.

I've promised that the next one will be about what happens next. I have a layperson's understanding of the basic options but I'd be really interested to hear what some of you think on this or any suggestions for further reading.

Thanks,

Dave

In reply to DaveHK:

The exit strategies are fraught with difficulties. A vaccine  seems to be 18 months away. There will most likely be a second wave of infections.

If you have had the virus and have had the test for antibodies do you get a certificate to prove it? What about those people haven't caught it yet?

How much can people take of a lockdown?

How much economic distress are we willing to handle?

I was able to buy and read Laura Spinney's book 'Pale Rider' about the 1918-20 pandemic before it started selling at ridiculous prices.

Having read that and veiwing the consequences of the Spanish flu on the 1920's I think the future is going to be difficult. I imagine a lot of austerity and nations will not be the same. 

But then, more optimistically, the mountains and climbing will still be there and young people of the next generation are marvelous and will always get on and make it work. And all this may make us think more about our economics, society and environment. 

Dr.S at work 26 Mar 2020
In reply to Heartinthe highlands: