Sheffield or Manchester for a University City?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mark burley 17 Jan 2021

Currently my daughter has offers from Manchester Met and Sheffield for Uni this year. 
Ive been generally keeping out of the discussion as I didn’t go to Uni so I can’t offer personal advice. I would say pick the best course as both cities will be great. 
Currently her thoughts are Manchester will give a better city life, but what do we need to know about Sheffield?

Being a lifelong Leeds lad, extolling the virtue of both cities is hard for me 😁. Joking I think Manchester is a great city, I have little to no experience of Sheffield. 

Being 20 mins from abc crag ain’t going to cut it either, though she loves the outdoors I can’t see that being a priority for the next few years. 

mrphilipoldham 17 Jan 2021
In reply to mark burley:

I grew up in East Manchester and went to Salford Uni, living in Withington/Didsbury and then Swinton for the final year. Manchester is a great city, and definitely has the 'big city' feel (unless she's coming from Birmingham or London, perhaps!). I do equally love Sheffield though, a city it may well be but it's always felt a bit more 'homely', despite never having lived there. The nights out I've had have generally matched Manchester for memories though.. so not much in it there!

Andrew Wells 17 Jan 2021

I'm from Sheffield so I'm biased but I will say that a lot of student (commonly said to be "the most in the county") stay in Sheffield after they graduate because it is relatively cheap, has all the amenities of a big city, has a great nightlife and really good outdoor access. And it definitely does have all those qualities IMO. Also it rains less.

TechnoJim 17 Jan 2021
In reply to mark burley:

I've lived in Sheffield since I was a student 20 years ago, bar a couple of years in Bristol. Used to do quite a bit of partying in Manchester but I'm retired from all that carry on now.