Receiving an international payment

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 shantaram 16 May 2020

I’m selling an item via a Facebook for sale page and I have an interested buyer from Lithuania. He doesn’t want to use PayPal due to the fees, but would prefer to pay via bank transfer. He also wants to arrange a courier himself to pick up the item. His Facebook profile seems to check out and he is selling items on this Facebook site. Should I be concerned giving him my bank details plus home address for this sale? 

Post edited at 13:45
 Blue Straggler 16 May 2020
In reply to shantaram:

I am not experienced in this area and I do not want to cast aspersions on your buyer or on the good people of Lithuania but this is raising a lot of red flags. If I were in this position I’d cancel the sale. Plenty of scam models involve the buyer arranging their own courier, I have forgotten the mechanism by which this gives them an advantage. Admittedly I’ve read about this more regarding car sales 

JIMBO 16 May 2020
In reply to shantaram:

Google "scam buyer arrange own courier" and there is lots of evidence for scaming...

Essentially you don't have evidence of delivery and they can claim they never received it.

In reply to shantaram:

Using own courier is certainly a red flag; read the "buying and selling" pages on any hifi forum.

Bank transfer charges are likely to be higher than PayPal fees.

I wouldn't risk it.

crustypunkuk 16 May 2020
In reply to JIMBO:

But if they are happy to pay through bank transfer, where's the scam? The scams you reference rely on payment through a medium that can be reclaimed such as paypal.

As soon as payment by bank transfer is in your account, the money is yours. Cant be reclaimed unless you give it back.

JIMBO 16 May 2020
In reply to crustypunkuk:

I'd still be very cautious...

In reply to shantaram:

It will cost you something like £7 to receive a foreign payment.

Andrew Lodge 16 May 2020
In reply to shantaram: