RAF training flights, Lakes area.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Rog Wilko 12 Jan 2022

Have the RAF made a NY resolution to get out more? The amount of low flying over my house seems much greater over the last few days.

If the number of flights is as much increased as I and some neighbours think, does this relate to heightened tensions around the world  such as Ukraine, Kazachstan, etc or are we just trying to impress the EU in a post Brexit world?

edit for typo

Post edited at 17:41
 climbingpixie 12 Jan 2022
In reply to Rog Wilko:

I was out and about in the Coledale fells yesterday and was amazed at how many jets I saw/heard. Not being a Lakes resident I wasn't aware how frequently they take place but I'd never seen as many out as that before.

Post edited at 18:06
In reply to Rog Wilko:

Surely nothing to do with the EU (they aren't impressed by us, anyway, now); almost certainly to do with the Ukraine.

In reply to Rog Wilko:

(Further thought: Boris is probably champing at the bit now for some kind of Falklands-like distraction from his extreme home weakness.)

Paul at work 12 Jan 2022
In reply to Rog Wilko:

Or is it more to do with the stable nicer weather? There may even be a big exercise or two on?

Ridge 12 Jan 2022
In reply to Rog Wilko:

It's in preparation for the invasion of Scotland to seize Tom in Edinburgh's copy of 'Oliver's Army'.

wercat 12 Jan 2022
In reply to Rog Wilko:

Cumbria is home to that rare thing an Electronic Warfare range (complete with accompanying potential enemy hardware on display to accompany the threat signals) - on a visit a few years ago we were told one of only 2 in Europe so that brings a lot of aircraft to the UK and in particular to Cumbria.   We heard on site ATC called by an inbound Harrier from miles away and it was most impressive to hear him roar overhead what seemed seconds later.

gld73 12 Jan 2022
In reply to Rog Wilko: