One-off CNC machining

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 a crap climber 20 Jun 2022

Being the ever reliable font of all knowledge, I'm figuring someone on here must have some experience in this area.

Can anyone recommend a company that will do one off CNC machine and turning of small parts?

Basically I want to get some parts made for my mountain bike. They're not particularly complicated (I'd probably have a decent shot at making them myself if I had access to a lathe and milling machine and I'm a cack-handed machinist at best). A quick google shows lots of companies offering small batches, the thing is I'm not a mechanical designer and don't particularly know what I'm doing, so can anyone suggest any companies that are patient and willing to deal with idiots?

I've drawn the parts up in CAD and have at least a basic understanding of how milling and turning work so I think they're possible to make.

Cheers 

montyjohn 20 Jun 2022
In reply to a crap climber:

I'd like an answer to this question.

From my experience, machine shops don't want to deal with the public. Too low volume and too many complaints to make it worth their while, but I often find myself in the need for small parts to be made.

wintertree 20 Jun 2022

Protolabs do 3D printing in metal and CNC.  Upload a suitable design coke and get a quote.  May not be cheap.   They’ll do work down to one part. 

Edit: Or you could get anyone with a home 3D printer to make it in PLA then have a go at lost wax casting but with PLA.  If you have a forge and vacuum pump…

Post edited at 13:35
 Ian W 20 Jun 2022

You might have some joy looking at custom motorcycle types; some of them can machine pretty decent stuff and are used to ultravlow volumes / one offs. Similarly race car / bike tuners / prep types.

Ridge 20 Jun 2022
In reply to montyjohn: