Non Fiction books

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 nikoid 04 Mar 2020

Anyone got any suggestions for non fiction books they've really enjoyed? One of my favourites is "Command and Control" by Eric Schlosser. It discusses mishaps with nuclear weapons and the tricky business of ensuring they only go off at the appropriate time. Fascinating book.

Welsh Kate 04 Mar 2020
In reply to nikoid:

I'm reading Hugh Aldersey-Williams' Periodic Tales at the moment. I'm not a scientist (I got a C for Chemistry 'O' level in 1981) but it's generally an easy read, entertaining, and full of interesting anecdotes as well as educating me about occupants of the periodic table that I haven't thought about for 40 years or had never been aware of.

Graeme G 04 Mar 2020
In reply to nikoid:

Barrows Boys by Fergus Fleming. My number one go to non fiction recommendation.

“Barrow's Boys: The Original Extreme Adventurers - A Stirring Story of Daring Fortitude and Outright Lunacy”

wintertree 04 Mar 2020
In reply to nikoid:

I’ve recently enjoyed Basil Mahon’s “The Forgotten Genius of Oliver Heaviside: A Maverick of Electrical Science”

Oliver Heaviside invented the “Heaviside Step Function”.  Many people remember the “Dirac Delta” instead, which is a shame as it’s purely derivative of Heaviside’s work.

Philip 04 Mar 2020
In reply to nikoid:

I love nature and adventure books. Redmond O'Hanlon's Borneo Adventure (and other books of his)

Recently read a book on the History of England. Currently enjoying Meadowland, the diary of an English field.

SPQR - history of Rome looked interesting and I thought I'd take a look once I polish off the two library books I have out.

Jon Stewart 04 Mar 2020
In reply to nikoid:

Jonathan Haidt's first two books give scientific accounts of happiness (The Happiness Hypothesis) and morality (The Righteous Mind). Deep insights into the human condition that aren't guessing or opinion, they're actually based in rigorous research.