NHS Test & Trace Ping for non-UK residents

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 yorkshireman 08 Nov 2021

I had my first experience of NHS test and trace yesterday. I'm a permanent resident in France for the last 10 years but had to go back last Wednesday for a family emergency. 

Flying back to France yesterday I received three emails within an hour of each other telling me:

"NHS Test and Trace has identified you as a contact of someone who has recently tested positive for COVID-19. You must now stay at home and self-isolate for 10 days from the date of your last contact with them, unless you are exempt."

At first I thought it was a scam mail because there's no real detail - when was the contact? Where? Who with? Is this normal?

I can only assume this has come from the details on the passenger locator form which had details of my BA flight on Wednesday because apart from that there was nobody else (apart from close family) who I could have been in contact with and who could have got my details and I've already checked with them.

If I don't know when the contact was, or who it was, how am I meant to know when the 10 days should end (eg after my last contact with them)? 

Do all 200 people on the plane get pinged or is the system smart enough to only ping people sat in close proximity?

I believe I read anyway that full vaccinated people don't need to quarantine which seems to make the whole thing pointless.

Anyway I tried to go onto the website and create an account but it won't accept a non-UK address for me so I gave up. They have my phone number - I guess I'll get a call?

Interested to know if anyone has had a similar experience.

Thanks

Šljiva 08 Nov 2021
In reply to yorkshireman:

We had similar that could only have been from a flight - 8 days after the flight!  Three  messages in quick succession, and then radio silence. Ignored as vaccinated and well, 8 days later! 

OP yorkshireman 08 Nov 2021
In reply to Šljiva: