Moving to The Lakes - where should we look?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
thosethreewords 21 Jul 2019

First time on the forum - I’m glad I’ve found you! I really hope we can find some ideas of where to live around The Lakes that suit us.

My husband and I (early thirties) and our dog are hoping to relocate to The Lakes next year, while we have chance with our jobs. We currently live in a city and we hate it. The majority of our weekends are spent near Ullswater as we have a caravan there (and I’ve been coming here for 30 years). We’ve only recently starting considering a permanent move, since originally we were going to move to the Peak District (where I’m from) but that was mainly influenced by locality to our family. 

About us: job wise we will be flexible on area, as we are both GPs and we’ve got some good options I think. Our hobbies are all outdoor - hillwalking, climbing, sailing, cycling, triathlons. My husband is also an expedition medic and does more mountaineering than I do. We don’t have children yet, but that is a possibility for the future so schools/ community is important for us.

Having said that, we are more drawn to villages rather than towns. We would love to be able to walk straight out the door rather than have to drive to all walks. We’ve looked pretty much every other weekend for 3-4 months at the villages around Penrith and found a few we like e.g. Askham, Helton, Stainton. I find it’s hard to judge sometimes how many of these villages are full of second homes, though and I don’t want to live solely with holidaymakers for neighbours. 

Penrith and Keswick is where I know the most, and I’m not overly keen on the really touristy South Lakes, so we rarely venture there. 

I’ve previously worked at Westmorland Hospital in Kendal but don’t know too much about the area. I still feel the North Lakes is probably where we are headed. 

Has anyone any advice on where to look? 

Guy Hurst 21 Jul 2019