Microsoft Teams/Sharepoint Hell help please!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Phil West 14 Oct 2020

I'm hoping someone can help me before I become a luddite. I'm new to Microsoft Teams as of January this year and I absolutely hate it. In principle I think it's got merit however it just is not yet fit for purpose. Some of my problem may come from a lack of understanding so hopefully someone can put me on the right path.

Anyway, this is my problem and I'm hoping someone can help me please:

I've created an Excel workbook. It's stored in a shared area on Teams. Some days I can open it fine, other days it might take an hour or two of persistence and other days, like today, I can't get in it at all.

At the same time, I can open other Excel files in the same shared area, some of which I created, some not. Other people can open the file and it's fine for them.

It's not just this one file. It can happen to other files too. And Powerpoint, not just Excel, although Excel is the main problem as that's where I spend 90% of my time.

I navigate to the document and right click and select 'Open in app'

Then it either opens or it doesn't. If it doesn't, I get one of the following error messages:

"The document is open in another application. Please close it and try opening again"

"The app is waiting for the completion of an OLE action" - then:

"Sharepoint could not open the document for one of the following reasons - The path does not exist; the name is incorrect; It is open in another application, please close it and try re-opening it"

I've tried selecting 'open in web browser' followed by 'open in desktop app' and I've tried just clicking on it in Teams then doing the same but it either opens or I get those error messages. This happens every day. I can't use the document in Teams without opening it in Excel as the functionality is too limited.

Is this just me?

Is there something I can do to stop this happening?

Thanks in advance!

Phil