Medals for the NHS staff.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 brianjcooper 30 Mar 2020

3 days ago - The Daily Mirror today launches a campaign to give all the brave NHS staff and volunteers helping to battle the coronavirus a medal.

I think giving them a decent wage to live on would be a much better option.

NHS. I salute you.

Allovesclimbin 30 Mar 2020
In reply to brianjcooper:

Cheers and pass it on to all the amazing staff. The porters who always chat to the scared and bring humanity to a sterile place , the nurses , radiographers, lab staff, canteen staff etc. 
 It’s tough. Especially if your pressure valve is climbing and outdoor spaces . As a front line consultant I can say your praise is well deserved by the knackered staff. 
let’s look forward to a great late summer ! 

> I think giving them a decent wage to live on would be a much better option.

... this country is obsessed with handing out 'gongs'... I'm not, for one minute, suggesting those on the front line in this current crisis are not worthy of some kind of recognition... but a medal... oh please...  this quaint, British, or should that be English, tradition of pinning medals on folk should be consigned to the dustbin of history; and anyway, it has been utterly devalued in recent years...

... paying those who care for us a proper wage, including those that work in the NHS and, as importantly, those that work in the care system, as well as providing proper and sustainable funding and investment in these public services going forward is what is really required here...

Martin Haworth 30 Mar 2020
In reply to brianjcooper: What's this got to do with rock climbing?

summo 30 Mar 2020
In reply to Richard Wheeldon:

Apart from better pay through taxation.. perhaps a one off bonus for all customer facing nhs staff; nurses, cleaners, receptionist.. the lot. Say £500 or £1000/head, it's peanuts overall and they can have a well deserved holiday when this settles down.