Mandelbrot Set

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mwr72 29 Dec 2021

Posted in this forum in the hope it gets more views.

Hope everyone has had a wonderful Christmas.

I'm looking for a link to a good Mandelbrot Set screensaver, I'm not tech savvy so haven't got a clue how to generate my own even though the equation is easy to find (not that I would understand that either).

I would love this as a screensaver.

Any help/guidance appreciated.

Have a happy new year.

DaveHK 29 Dec 2021
In reply to mwr72:

Q: What does the B stand for in Benoit B Mandelbrot?

A: Benoit B Mandelbrot. 

OP mwr72 29 Dec 2021
In reply to captain paranoia:

I know how to search, it's my fault for not being clearer, I should have asked for a recommendation for a good Mandelbrot screensaver(will edit OP to reflect)(edit: Bah, I can't seem to edit OP now )

Post edited at 20:03
In reply to mwr72:

Wasn't meant sarcastically. There seem to be lots of them, mostly free. What one person Iikes or wants might not be what someone else likes or wants.

OP mwr72 29 Dec 2021
In reply to captain paranoia:

No, I know it wasn't a sarcastic comment, so apologies if it appeared I thought it was.

The ones I've seen in the search(and there are quite a few even in each link) aren't very smooth when running, and don't appear to be as good as the video's of the set on, for example, youtube.

minimike 29 Dec 2021
In reply to mwr72:

That’s probably because it’s expensive to compute on the fly. Without a decent implementation it will be a bit clunky. I remember coding it on my Atari in the 90s and leaving it running overnight, to find it had done about 2/3 of the screen..

dread-i 29 Dec 2021
In reply to mwr72:

Fractint used to be be go to app for generating fractals. Its still out there, free to download. It allows you to fiddle and froblicate the algorithms and zoom in and out at will.