Living / teaching in Australia - Newcastle NSW

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 bouldery bits 27 Jun 2022

Hello all,

An opportunity has arisen for me to try my hand at teaching in New South Wales from January and I'm open to the idea.

I already teach in the UK (Primary) and love to surf, climb, run and wander. From my brief online research, Newcastle seems a good location for some of these things. 

I would love some UKC perspective on this if anyone has any experience!

Thanks,

BB

Tony Buckley 27 Jun 2022
In reply to bouldery bits:

I have no experience whatsoever.  But as the saying goes, better to regret something you have done, etc.

T.

mike123 27 Jun 2022
In reply to bouldery bits: I’d say theres every chance the school is quiet rough / challenging / whatever the current in vogue term is . As Newcastle has a reputation as one of Australia’s rougher cities . How you  view this of course depends on what your back ground is and where you’ve taught and what you want  . My youngest s current teacher would get eaten alive in such a school but you may well not . I’d say as a male  primary teacher with s bit of effort you could probably get a job in cushy school in Sydney’s northern suburbs. I know which I’d take .  I also know that a  few years ago the federal government had a scheme where if  you taught in a rough school in the sticks  for two years you were granted residency and could then stay for good . Well worth considering if that’s what you might want to do .

JRS 28 Jun 2022

I did a teacher exchange in 2000 going to teach in a state secondary school in one of the prosperous northern suburbs of Melbourne for a year. Even then it was like stepping back in time, a bit of an eye opener and definitely challenging.