Insulating window bays

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Ciro 09 Aug 2022

My partner has a 1930s semi-detached house with bay windows.

It needs a new roof, and she's got a very reasonable quote for that from a builder who comes with a personal recommendation.

The vertical tiled areas between the bays are still in reasonable condition, but they won't be insulated so she figured it might be a good idea to get them redone and insulated at the same time - was quoted almost half the price of the roof to get the two bays done.

I'm thinking there must be cheaper ways to go about this, perhaps DIY. 

I gather the normal way to insulate these is to take the tiles off, add celotex type insulation to the back of the void, leaving a suitable air gap under the laths to allow any condensation to air, and re-tile.

I've never done any roof tiling before, however I like to think I'm reasonably handy - anyone on here done this before? Was it a difficult job? I'm assuming the quote is because it's a more time consuming job than the large roof tiles, rather than expensive materials.

There are a few houses down the road with render over the bay, so I also wondered about doing that. 

Internet seems to throw up a few different ways people have gone, but one fairly authoritative sounding post suggested insulate at the back but leave an air gap, install membrane onto wooden frame, battens on top of membrane to create another air gap, a layer of builders paper (or another membrane) to prevent render getting into the gap, then staple on expanded metal lath and render over.

Likewise any experience of DIYing this job? 

I guess the biggest concern with rendering a previously tiled bay would be that there could be movement in the frame that the tiles are done with but would crack the render?

Bit of a ramble, but if you got this far any and all thoughts welcome, even if it's just "your gonna trash the house, leave it to an expert".

Jenny C 09 Aug 2022