House heating help

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Levy_danny 29 Jun 2022

Hi All, 

I'm after a bit of help as this really isn't  my area of expertise and it all blows my mind a little bit I know there are some helpful people on here but can appreciate this looks like I may have done much research but I find it all so confusing. if people would prefer to point me in the direction of some easy to understand info that would be ace as well. 

I've recently remortgaged to get the kitchen redone and some other bits that I've been putting off for the last 5 years since I bought my house. We've got a gas boiler that's a couple of years old so should be good for at least another 10 years and is well serviced and guaranteed. My father in law thinks when  we redo the floor in the kitchen we should get underfloor electric heating and sack off the two gas radiators in the kitchen (I'm not adverse to this) The whole of the downstairs is open plan (kitchen, dining room and lounge are one big room front to back) in the middle there is a log burner and he thinks we should sack that off and also the one in the room at the front of the house in favour of electric radiators and just keep the boiler for radiators upstairs and hot water (not sure if this is even possible)

I'm reluctant to do this but am open to it if it's a good idea to future proof and move away from gas if it won't cost more in bills over the next 10 years and won't cost a fortune. 

I was just wonderng what people's thoughts are.. Appreciate this is a pretty simplistic description and thanks in advance for any help. 

Cheers

Dan

Neil Williams 29 Jun 2022
In reply to Levy_danny:

Don't switch to electric yet.  Electric underfloor (all electric in fact) costs a fortune to run.  You may prefer to go to a heat pump in due course, so you might want to consider wet underfloor while you have the floor up (as this works quite well with a heat pump).

Post edited at 11:41